Closing a Disconnected Terminal Services session
Terminal Services is designed so that if a connection is dropped, or if the user deliberately disconnects from the session without using the logoff procedure, the session will continue running on the Terminal Services server. When the user reconnects, the session will be resumed from the same point.
This is a useful part of Terminal Services functionality, but if the user is disconnected by a communications failure, and cannot log back in to the session, the session will keep running and this may interfere with backing up or other system maintenance. Therefore it is necessary for an administrator to close the session.
The procedure is:
- Connect to the Terminal Services server and log in with the username of the disconnected user.
You will either be connected to the running session or you may be connected to a new session.
If the former, simply close the running programs and log off.
If the latter the session may be ended thus:
- In the left-hand pane of Terminal Services Manager, navigate through the tree until you find your Terminal Services server.
- Left-click on the server name.
- Left-click the desired user to highlight it.
- Reconnect to the Terminal Services server using the same credentials.
- Close Terminal Services Manager and log off.